The Root Chakra

The Root Chakra or Muladhara

(Mula meaning "root" and Adhara meaning "support" or "base")

Location: Base of the spine including the lower three vertebrae and the pelvic floor.

Related Organs/areas of the body: Bladder, Large intestine/colon, skeleton, legs, feet and teeth

Associated Colour: Red

The first of the seven chakras directly relates to survival, safety and security. A balanced root chakra grounds you and gives you a sense of belonging and stability, it also creates a solid base for alignment throughout the entire chakra system.

In contrast, an imbalanced root chakra may lead to fears, anxiety and nightmares, depression or panic attacks. In some cases imbalance can also manifest in the body in the form of physical ailments such as pain in the lower back, legs or feet.

Seated meditation and practicing Yoga poses such as Sukhasana (easy pose), Malasana (Garland pose) and Janu Sirsansana (head-to-knee pose) can help unblock the Root Chakra and promote harmony.

11 views0 comments